Social Media Advocacy Challenge Check In

If you missed our first post this month, we at the Music Therapy Repertoire Challenge are initiating a social media Advocacy Challenge throughout the month of January to take part in Social Media Advocacy Month. I have posted 3 times on my Facebook wall some slightly in depth explanations about our profession in the attempt to start conversations and answer questions of my online community. I have been somewhat surprised by the response (or lack there of) thus far. I have received a good number of “likes” and “loves” from a friend groups outside my online Music Therapy circle, so that was encouraging. But I have had no comments so far. I still have hopes that I am educating my online community and encouraging my online Music Therapy community, but I hope to receive more feedback and questioning comments as the month progresses. I have not been posting every other day as I planned, but I post 3 in the first week, so that is pretty close to my goal! However, I have decided that for the rest of the month I am going to spread my posts out a little more to allow time for responses. Here are my next 3 posts in case anyone is interested in joining my Advocacy Challenge!

 

Exploring Music Therapy Day 4: Music Therapy is a licensed health profession which includes unique credentials (MT-BC, which stands for Music Therapist – Board Certified), a Professional Code of Ethics, Professional Competencies, and a National Organization (The American Music Therapy Association). The CBMT (Certification Board for Music Therapists) is the only organization to certify music therapists to practice music therapy nationally. Its MT-BC program has been fully accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA) since 1986.  There are currently 7,017 music therapists maintaining the MT-BC credential and participating in a program of recertification designed to measure or enhance competence in the profession of music therapy.
From cbmt.org

 

Exploring Music Therapy Day 5: Who can benefit from Music Therapy? Music Therapy can benefit anyone with a healthcare need that can be addressed with the use of music, either as a primary treatment or in collaboration with another healthcare professional. This can include: “Children, adolescents, adults, and the elderly with mental health needs, developmental and learning disabilities, Alzheimer’s disease and other aging related conditions, substance abuse problems, brain injuries, physical disabilities, and acute and chronic pain, including mothers in labor.” (From the American Music Therapy Association via www.musictherapy.org)

 

 

Exploring Music Therapy Day 6: Music therapists work in psychiatric hospitals, rehabilitative facilities, medical hospitals, outpatient clinics, day care treatment centers, agencies serving persons with developmental disabilities, community mental health centers, drug and alcohol programs, senior centers, nursing homes, hospice programs, correctional facilities, halfway houses, schools, and private practice.

Leave a Reply

