Recording – June Theme

Happy Summer Everybody!

Before I jump into our theme this month, I wanted to let you all know that the blog will be slowing down a bit over the summer.  Catherine is taking some personal time off for the next 2 months in preparation for some exciting new changes!  It will just be me running things here and on social media!  When August rolls around, never fear!  Catherine will be back!  All that being said, you can plan on a new post on June 13th, and 27th.  I will also be posting an interview on July 5th and will have SOTW’s for July 11th and 25th.  So, keep your eyes peeled for me posting in your inbox, on Facebook, and Twitter! 🙂

This month, I wanted to focus on recording.  I know this is coloring outside the lines a bit–it’s not strictly related to repertoire.  But I believe that recording has a place in the therapeutic process.  As one usually records repertoire, it is in a similar orbit to our mission here at the MTRC.

The intent behind this month’s theme is to encourage familiarity or even fluency with recording software.

There is a wealth of applications, software, and methods to record music that I believe will make this theme useful for therapeutic use–not just personal entertainment.  As music is a transient modality, recording is a method that allows a more permanent way to preserve a musical experience.  Knowledge pertaining to recording is a vital skill for the modern music therapist.

As a child, I loved to use a tape recorder to “dub” over songs on the radio, or just entertain myself for hours.  Luckily these days, we have Garage Band, Audacity, Voice Memos, and other applications that allow for easier and more advanced recording.

The first Garage Band recording I created was in 2009, and I really explored the software throughout 2010.  Over the course of that year, I became familiar with creating different tracks, “dubbing” over myself, splicing, etc.  Culminating in an “album” that I created of my own music and covers that I distributed to family and friends.  In 2011, I was able to translate all that knowledge into my practicum experience.  I created a CD that was a part of the closure process for the group I was working with.  Since that time, I have effectively used this closure technique with two to three other therapy groups.

Another way to use recording within the session is as a form of reality orientation.  Are we singing/playing loud, or soft?  Can you understand the words you are rapping when they are played back to you?  How does it sound if you play the maraca instead of the rainstick?  Recording is a handy tool to have at your fingertips–even if it’s just for immediate playback.

If you’ve used recording in your sessions, let us know in the comments below how you’ve used it, and what you used to record!

Best,
+bb

Leave a Reply

