SOTW: I Am Willing – Holly Near

Chords || Lyrics || Video

Continuing in our theme of Women’s History this month, “I Am Willing” by Holly Near encourages an environment of support, acceptance, and understanding.  At the same time, it is a call to action, a reminder to embrace change.

This song is so powerful, and can be easily taught.  It is a song that I believe can be used with many populations, and is incredibly empowering.  The refrain that returns makes honest statements:

“I am open, and I am willing.
For to be hopeless,
would seem so strange.
It dishonors those who go before us.
So lift me up to the light of change”

The chorus takes on mantra-like clarity as the song progresses.  As you hear in the recording, the song builds in texture.  Outside of the studio environment, the song could easily start with one person, and spread to the group as it is taught.

The chords are easy, although the modulation can be quite tricky.  I’m planning on trying later in the week–as I have been sick all weekend with the flu!

boo.

I still don’t have much of a singing voice to speak of.  But in the meantime, I’ll continue to listen to Holly’s dulcet tones while I take a nap. . .

+bb

Leave a Reply

