Social Media Advocacy Month

Dear Readers,

One of the things that I so enjoy about this blog is our connection to the greater music therapy community online.  Although we have our monthly theme, and we focus on learning new repertoire, there is always more happening out in the world of music therapy.  It is easy to be connected online to other music therapists, and enrich your practice by being aware of what others are doing in the field.

January is Social Media Advocacy Month, and if you haven’t seen #mtadvocacy around on twitter, facebook, and other social media sites. . . Well, you’re missing out!  Click here to go to the master post about how to get involved this month.


On Monday, I walked into my last session of the day doing the usual visual sweep of the room to see who was where, and what sort of level the students were at.  I glanced to my left, suddenly realizing that there was a video camera set up, and two teenagers buzzing around it.  After seeing and recognizing what that meant for the session I was about to conduct, I smiled towards the assembled group of students and made my way to the center of the half circle.

It wasn’t the first time that I had visitors in that classroom.  In December, I made a special visit so that the music therapy group could be featured on the school’s Facebook page, promoting music therapy and the organization that I work for.

As a music therapist, advocacy isn’t specifically in my job description.  But that does not mean it is not a core aspect of being a music therapist.

It wasn’t until after the session that I learned who the teenagers were, and why they were there.  They were high school students who had read about the feature that had been done previously.  They wanted to interview me for their school-wide news program.

It was fun to talk to these high schoolers, but then, I always find opportunities like this to be enjoyable.  Their questions for me were, “How did you know you wanted to be a music therapist” and “Is it rewarding?”  Arguably, the two most important questions high schoolers have about any career choice.  I found myself in a position where I could be a connector.

I told them about my music therapy journey, and how although the job is rewarding there is something more important at work here.  Other people’s lives are being affected!  Feeling proud of a client’s growth and progress is just a byproduct of the therapeutic process–definitely not the most important part of my job.

Regardless, it was an honor to speak with them about my profession.  The interview and some tidbits of the session will go live next month.  I have to admit, it is powerful thinking about students at the high school who will see the newscast.

Oh, and I didn’t know that I was going to be interviewed on Monday.  No one had asked me, or told me that it was happening.  But to be honest, I didn’t mind. . .

Because there is nothing wrong with building bridges. 🙂


Please get involved with #mtadvocacy this month!  Share an advocacy experience below in the comments, or on Facebook/Twitter.  Catherine and I look forward to reading your stories!  And, as always:

Thanks for reading,
+bb

One thought on “Social Media Advocacy Month

Leave a Reply

