Song of the Week: It’s a Good Day

Happy Monday! I hope you are all enjoying some nice fall weather and festivities by now. The weather is still pretty warm here, but I have been finding some really delicious apples at the grocery store the past couple weeks. So I feel the fall magic!
Without further ado, our song of the week:

Chords
I picked this song for a few reasons.
1. It was unfamiliar to me
2. since today is Monday, I think we all need to be reminded that it’s still a good day.
The lyrics in this song are mostly predictable and cheerful as the title would suggest. But the last verse brings in a sense of practicality which indicates you have a choice to make it a good day. It’s not just good for singing and skipping along, but it’s also a good day to get some things done that you may not feel like doing:

‘Cause it’s a good day for paying your bills;
And it’s a good day for curing your ills,
So take a deep breath and throw away the pills;
‘Cause it’s a good day from morning’ till night

I think this last verse makes the song a little more accessible and relatable.

The version I am choosing to share with you is performed by Peggy Lee, whom Judy Garland said was her favorite singer. I discovered that today when looking up the song and thought it was an interesting piece of information to share. Aside from that, I chose this version because the melody is easy to pick out and follow. With these Big Band songs I frequently find it difficult to discern melody from all the harmonies and ornamentations, so this is an excellent version to learn the song from.

So remember that it’s a good day even though it’s Monday, and try to make the most of it!
Catherine

One thought on “Song of the Week: It’s a Good Day

Leave a Reply

