Song of the Week/Rediscovering Beauty

This week I had a special experience that probably happens to most people at some point in life, but is a very unique kind of beautiful in the life of a musician. I rediscovered a deep love for a piece of music I learned 5 years ago. It was the first piece I mastered on a deeper level in college, which was during my Sophomore year: Schubert Impromptu Op. 142 No. 3.

Sadly, by the time I played it on my junior recital, I was burned out and my musical ear was craving Debussy. However, I have been pulling out pieces I learned in college because I finally bought a piano! So yesterday I remembered the Schubert and started to sight read it from my phone. I was surprised and overwhelmed by the simple beauty of the theme, and taken on a whirling emotional journey through the 5 variations that followed. This may sound kinda crazy, but I was really sad when I lost an appreciation for this piece the year after I initially learned it. And now I am really happy that there is still a part of me that feels like I’m swimming in a peaceful river during the first variation, feels the most sorrowful moments of my life expressed in the 3rd variation, feels my heart skip a beat when the right hand resolves on a trill in a high register after a long run in the 2nd variation. I really liked the person I was when this piece stole my heart, and I am really happy that girl is still there after the major changes my life has taken. 

To make a point out of all this… I think my experience with this piece relates to a Music Therapist’s work with Geriatrics. I have worked in a few different nursing homes, and there are always those people who have lost sight of why they serve the residents, and start to treat them like “old people”. But we get to use music to gain insight into our residents’ lives and bring out the parts of them that experience joy or sadness or peace through the music that has touched their lives, or through new music that we share with them. This is my favorite population to serve, so I am really happy that we are focusing on Geriatrics this month!
The other reason why I shared this experience is because the piece I mentioned is a piano piece (which is part of our theme this month) and is really quite visual and expressive. Could definitely be used in a clinical setting. 

That being said, here is our official song of the week chosen from the monthly top 10 Liz Morgan shared with Becky.

2 thoughts on “Song of the Week/Rediscovering Beauty

  1. I love this post! Oldies, piano music, and old people. 🙂 You almost made me wish I had learned more piano. 🙂 Unfortunately, I have way too many other interests. I’m happy for you that that all came back for you! 😀 You still need to call me back 😉 love ya!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

