Song of the Week – Wagon Wheel

Hello musicians!

Chords  Lyrics
I am so excited to be choosing the song of the week on my birthday! This song has been a favorite of mine for many years. It is a great one for driving down a country road in the midwest with the windows down, or jamming on a front porch with some good friends. In fact, this is one of the songs our Interviewee this month is able to use her primary instrument, Viola, on. I am kind of dying to hear her fiddle on a Viola, it sounds like a really unique fun time.
The chords are SO simple on any instrument of choice, and the words are very descriptive of dear places to me.

As I listen to this song now, I am very nostalgic for my life in Ohio, but I am also pretty amazed that my adult life has brought me so far away from home for the time being. This brings me to why we are focusing on Military Music Therapy this month. I have always thought it would be cool to work with this population, but I felt very disconnected and naive about military life and only recently began to consider it. My husband is a trumpet player in the Marine Corps, which is why we are living in San Diego. And over the past 2 years I have been able to gain insight into what these incredible men and women and their families go through and what is expected of them. We have had our slight bumps in the road along the way, but we have been fortunate enough to live a mostly normal life, uninterrupted by long deployments or training injuries. We have also been blessed enough to become close to some of the people in the Marine bands, and have been able to see the struggles and strains experienced in marriages and personal lives. Because of this, the military population is becoming close to my heart and I hope to have the opportunity of serving them in Music Therapy capacity in the near future.
Hannah Bronson expressed to me, during our interview at the beginning of the month, that the military has become less of a priority for care by the general public since we are not involved in a major war. But the truth is, they need our support just to do what they do on a daily basis. Especially when someone completes their time and leaves military life, it is important for the community to welcome them with open arms as they decree what to do next with their life.
So if you know someone entering civilian life after working in the military, make attempts to understand what they are leaving behind and how it remains apart of them. There are several community organizations designed to assist with this transition as well, depending on what part of the country you live in. If you are feeling inspired, get involved!

As always, thanks for taking the challenge! And have fun with Wagon Wheel this week!

Catherine

Leave a Reply

