SOTW – The Rooster Song

This week, I’m sharing my resource first–a bible amongst songbooks.  Rise Up Singing is a songbook that you can confidently purchase and literally take 5 years to learn and use all of the songs within.

I still haven’t even looked at all of the songs!  But I adore this book.

Rise Up Singing is organized by genres of music.  Each section is comprehensive, having familiar songs (Beatles, Joni Mitchell, etc), but also obscure songs, folk tunes, and songs you have never heard before (check out the, “Men” section).

The song that I chose for this week is, “Rooster Song,” on page 75 of the Large Print Leader’s Edition.  I love this song, and I use it with kids of all ages. 😉

The song begins with this poor chicken who can’t lay eggs.  And through the verse, a rooster comes, and miraculously(!) the chicken can lay eggs!  Yes, I know.  That was somewhat predictable.  But the second verse laments about a cow, who cannot give any milk!  Lo and behold, the rooster comes. . . and the cow gives egg nog!  The next is about an empty gas pump. . . the rooster comes, and it has Shell gas!

So, I think you’ve picked up on the pattern.  There is a problem, the rooster comes, the problem is solved–but in such a way that it has something to do with chickens.

I created a PECs board for this song, and have used it with kindergarteners-teens.  Depending on the age, I will either use concrete verses (farm animals), or use more abstract (example – gas pump) verses.  We will focus on the application for children.

Procedure:
I have a green laminated sheet for the, “Farm Yard,” and a wide variety of animals with their corresponding “chicken object.”  There are many ways to use the board: I pull out each animal as the client(s) name/identify it to sing about, or I place all the animals out for the clients to see and choose from, or I pass out each animal to a client and ask them to raise their hand when their animal is sung about.  Regardless of the set-up, when the animal is sung about, it will be placed in the “farm yard.”  When the time comes for the rooster, I will place him in the “yard.”  And lastly, either I, or a client will place the “chicken object” in the “yard” to complete the verse.  Then the board will be cleared for the next verse!

If the clients are young enough, I will ask them to identify the sound that the animal makes, as an additional part of the song.

It’s really a silly song.  But I’ve used it to work towards goals of increased turn taking, joint attention (eye contact), and decision-making.

Challenge!:
I came up with a verse about a dog who can’t roll over.  Once the rooster comes, the dog is, “over easy.”  As in, sunny side up, over easy, poached. . . etc.  There are other verses in my rotation, of course.  But I want to see if any of you can come up with some zingers!  What would happen, for example, if the rooster were to come across a monastery?  Post your thoughts in the comments below!

best wishes,
+bb

2 thoughts on “SOTW – The Rooster Song

  1. Catherine, I love it! 🙂 Very, “punny!” Yes, I can! Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to find quite a few things since my move. . . Ironically, when I was looking for the animal PECs that go with the board, all I could find was the PEC for, “more.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Becky, this is a great resource! And the song sounds entertaining as well. How about: the student who was too tired to finish homework. When the rooster showed up they were able to RECOUP. Ha, I love a good pun!
    I am very interested in seeing your board for this intervention. Any way you could share a picture?

    Like

Leave a Reply

