Theme for January 2015

Hello Musicians!
HAPPY NEW YEAR!!
This blog is an idea I have been developing for the past few months, and I thought it would be appropriate to make our first official post on the start of a new year. Most of my posts will be quick and snappy. I will be direct and to the point so it is easy for busy people to be involved. But I would like to start on a personal note.
I want this blog to become a valuable resource for music therapy students, interns, and professionals throughout this year. Please stick with me as I experiment and develop my style of writing with each passing week. 2014 was a big year for me, filled with many accomplishments and challenges that have changed my life in the biggest ways. I have lived in 4 different states and witnessed beautiful moments of humanity in my work and my personal life. This time of year I like to sit down and make a list of things I would like to see happen in my life. Some serious things (such as, being more confident and comfortable with who I am) and also some lighthearted things (I have been trying to finish reading Les Miserables for the past two years. I am SO CLOSE!). One of the highlights of my list this year is this blog. I am committing to learning at least 1 new song every week to develop my repertoire and music skills. I strongly believe that if we take the time to study a song until it is memorized (or at least close), we will be able to recall it more easily even years later. I absolutely love being a musician. It is one of the greatest joys of my life. So this is the way I believe I can contribute to the world of music therapy at this time. I want to learn from all of you and share in our musicianship.

And now it is time to announce our music theme for January 2015. In honor of the common nostalgic sentiment this time of year:
TOP HITS OF 2014

Here are the songs most popular in 2014 according to Spotify:
1. Happy – Pharrell Williams
2. Rather Be – Clean Bandit
3. Summer – Calvin Harris
4. Dark Horse – Katy Perry
5. All of Me – John Legend
6. Timber – Pit Bull
7. Rude – Magic
8. Waves – Mr. Probz
9. Problem – Arianna Grande
10. Counting Stars – One Republic

The Most Viral Song in 2014 – Take Me to Church by Hozier
Top Female Artist – Katy Perry
Top Male Artist – Ed Sheeran

Check out more of Spotify’s Year of Music 2014 – https://www.spotify-yearinmusic.com/us/ 

Every Monday, Becky and I will take turns picking a Song of the Week from the list above. Obviously, we will not be able to get through the whole list this month, but if you would like to jam on your own go ahead! And if you do learn all 10, let us know! We will give many huzzahs in your honor.

Once again, Happy New Year! And thank you for taking part in this challenge.
Be Musical,

Catherine

Leave a Reply

